"Linearising Using LOGS"- This question is too hard! Help!

Farvahar021

Well I've been give bunch of assignments to do and I have finished all of them but this one :shock: ... I have no idea at all how to do this, I know the basics of Logs (up to AS level in UK) but this question is just too hard for me, I hardly even understand the question :S please help

I've scanned the question and uploaded it on image shack website
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/863/mathsqm1.jpg

Thanks and I hope someone here can help me out.

Re: "Linearising Using LOGS"- This question is too hard! Hel

Do you have Excel?. It will do this lickety-split.

Use Excel to perform a Exponent Regression with the given data.

I got \(\displaystyle I=.02e^{\frac{-t}{\frac{1}{5}}}=.02e^{-5t}\)

Parts b and c are easily answered now.

Do you know how to make a chart like this in Excel?. If so, adding a trendline is easy.

Attachments

• amperes.gif
    amperes.gif
    5.9 KB · Views: 71

Umm no im not very good with excel but i think i can manage to make a chart using my number but how does that help me out i dont understand.

after I saw "Exponent Regression" in your post i didnt even know what it was and I just did some research on it and I realised that my teacher hasnt even been over this subject.. I mean Logs yes but all this is new to me. Could you tell me how you got 0.02 = I and 1/5=T?

from bit of research i just did i found this page
http://people.hofstra.edu/Stefan_Waner/ ... ssion.html
and i have been trying to do my question using example 3, (q = Ar^t is also totally new to me) im just having a go at it right now and will let you know how it goes, am i on the right path?? one thing im bit confused about right now is that the examples final answer is R = 2.6770 (1.3774)^t but mine is gonna be ^-t/T? how is it gonna differ from the example?

Ahh man... I hate my maths teacher lol.

thank you so much galactus for your fast respond by the way.