Total Distance Traveled

Pi Man

Hello everyone at FMH! This is my first post and hopefully not my last!

Anyway, I got a bit of an embarrassing situation here. We were just assigned the word problem section in our text book and I am a bit lost. I'm an overachiever which is why I've decided to register on a math help site, so do not think of me as another 'college boy BS'n his midterms'.

Anyway, my problem lies in this equation:

f(t) = t^3 - 12t^2 + 36t

Which stands for a particle moving according to the law of motion, where t is measured in seconds and s is in feet.

Also, s = f(t) t >= 0

I've taken the derivative and got the velocity function. No problems so far. I did however stumble across the part of the problem that reads:

"Find the distance traveled during the first 8 feet."

Now I am lost. I have no idea how to calculate that. Please help.

Also, if someone could clearly explain when the particle is moving in a positive direction and why I would much appreciate that too. I got the answer, but I am unsure as to how I got it honestly...

Last edited:
f(t) = t^3 - 12t^2 + 36t

Which stands for a particle moving

"Find the distance traveled during the first 8 seconds."

Your description of the number f(t) as a moving particle is not sufficient to demonstrate that you understand the given scenario.

f(t) is not a particle; it is a number.

Is the particle moving back and forth on some line? Did they explain this in lecture?

Could we think of f(t) as the y-coordinate at time t of some particle moving up and down the y-axis, for example?

What is f(t) exactly? You need to get this, first. After you understand f(t), I think that you'll also understand what the question asks and how to calculate the answer.

Let us know what you think the number f(t) represents, if you need additional guidance. Cheers :cool:

Last edited:
clearly explain when the particle is moving in a positive direction and why