What is your math orinentated career / hobby?

jwpaine

I joined this forum to help strengthen my math skills as a high school student. I have developed an interest in mathematics and am looking into starting a degree in mathematics this fall.

There are many high posters here.... what is your math orientated career or hobby?

I plan on staying here to help develop better tutoring skills as I begin to take more advanced classes beyond precal. I'm curious to know, what do you do?. :p

Thanks, John.

TK, at this one: http://www.beanactuary.org/
...are you the guy in 2nd picture (wearing glasses) :?:

jw, I'm a retired financial analyst;
my math is High School only, plus what I picked up on my own;
went back to math 5 years ago (to keep busy: retired and widower within a year).
So whatever "tutor help" I'm able to give is not too "high".
Math was "my 1st love".
I also happen to have the greatest grandson on the planet :wink:

Denis said:
TK, at this one: http://www.beanactuary.org/
...are you the guy in 2nd picture (wearing glasses) :?:
No. I don't show up on film. I can't think if any online photos. Ah, well, wouldn't want to scare people.

Insurance company remains the most common place to find actuaries, but they are sprouting wings and sticking their hands in all sorts of practices.

I didn't get an interest in math until I started surveying in the late 80's. There I taught myself the trig and geometry used in that field. I later went to school with the intention of majoring in computer science, but once I tool Calc I was hooked. I went on to get a degree in math. I now teach Intermediate algebra and Stats at a two-year college. As for math hobbies, I always enjoy learning something new. With math there is always something new. I would like to get better at number theory and group theory, but have a rough time putting in the time to self-teach.