Trig functions, solve for z in triangle

whitecanvas

Hi there,

I'm an independent-study student and the textbook I'm studying from is very... :x I'm currently working on trigonometric functions and come across this problem. I am asked to find z of the right triangle, given one size of the triangle as 23, a 39 degree angle. I found the other two angles, 90 and 51, but how do I find the length. Here's a picture:

mathw.jpg

Can you help me, step-by-step, on how to get the answer? I just know it relates to the sin, cos, tan, etc... but I have no idea where to begin. Thank you very much for any help.

In a right triangle, the cosine of an acute angle is defined as the measure of the adjacent side divided by the measure of the hypotenuse...that is \(\displaystyle \sin x = \frac{adj}{hyp}\). In your case \(\displaystyle \sin 39 = \frac{23}{z}\)... solve for z.

Typo has been corrected.

whitecanvas said:
Hi there,

I'm an independent-study student and the textbook I'm studying from is very... :x I'm currently working on trigonometric functions and come across this problem. I am asked to find z of the right triangle, given one size of the triangle as 23, a 39 degree angle. I found the other two angles, 90 and 51, but how do I find the length. Here's a picture:

Can you help me, step-by-step, on how to get the answer? I just know it relates to the sin, cos, tan, etc... but I have no idea where to begin. Thank you very much for any help.

A
*...*
*......*
*.........*
*.............*
C*****************B
Angle ABC = 39º
BC = 23
cos/_ABC = adj/hyp = BC/AB
Therefore, AB = BC/cos(ABC) = 23/.777145 = 29.595

Loren said:
In a right triangle, the sine of an acute angle is defined as the measure of the adjacent side divided by the measure of the hypotenuse...that is \(\displaystyle \sin x = \frac{adj}{hyp}\). In your case \(\displaystyle \sin 39 = \frac{23}{z}\)... solve for z.