How do you solve this? -33.1(1.04)^x - (0.75)^{x-1} + 37.5 = 0

davidmazzei

Im studying for my engineering license and I dont remember how to do math (oh the irony). This is an engineering economics problem that ends up having x's in the exponent's and I keep getting the wrong answer. See below for my work.

Thank you!!

IMG-4466.jpg

Im studying for my engineering license and I dont remember how to do math (oh the irony). This is an engineering economics problem that ends up having x's in the exponent's and I keep getting the wrong answer. See below for my work.

Thank you!!

View attachment 36019
You can check your answer to any "solving" problem by plugging your answer back into the original exercise. If you plug [imath]2.77[/imath] in for [imath]x[/imath], what do you get?

It looks like you might benefit from reviewing the basics of exponents; you can find many lessons here.

Once you've refreshed, note the rules that say [imath]m^{a+b} = m^a\cdot m^b[/imath] and [imath]m^{-a} = \frac{1}{m^a}[/imath].

Thank you!!

View attachment 36019
As I understand it, you got 3.58, but your source says 2.77?

First, it may be encouraging to know that what you have "forgotten" is something you will probably not have learned: This type of equation can't be solved algebraically! So, no, you shouldn't know how to solve it.

Except, of course, clearly someone expects you to. It can be done (numerically rather than algebraically) with technology (such as a graphing calculator) or with various hand methods of approximation. Have you learned anything like that? Are such tools on the list of what you are being tested on?

But you also need to review properties of logarithms. This line is wrong for several reasons:

1687220047130.png

When you take the log of both sides, you have to follow rules to simplify; and there is no rule that allows you to take the log of a sum. You can't just take the log of each term, as you have done. You also didn't handle 33.1 correctly here.