How to solve w^2=-3-4i

mathsenjoy

Ok so i have gotten as far to get the correct answers and used the quadratic equation. What i dont understand is how the final answer is w=1-2i or w=-1+2i
why is it in the answers one number becomes postive and the other negative???
like in w=1-2i why is 1 positive and why is 2 negative
I understand that they can both be negative or postive when using the quadratic equation but i didnt understand how one number can be positive and the other negative.
Please help
If i put this in the wrong thread please tell me, i am just learning maths properly at an older age

Ok so i have gotten as far to get the correct answers and used the quadratic equation. What i dont understand is how the final answer is w=1-2i or w=-1+2i
why
is it in the answers one number becomes postive and the other negative???
I understand that they can both be negative or postive when using the quadratic equation but i didnt understand how one number can be positive and the other negative.
Please help
If i put this in the wrong thread please tell me, i am just learning maths properly at an older age
I'd like to see your work in order to tell you how to do your final step. There are many ways to solve a problem, which may reveal details in different ways.

When you say you "used the quadratic equation", do you mean the quadratic formula? Please show details.

why is it in the answers one number becomes postive and the other negative???
Hello Mathsenjoy. Your statement about positive or negative complex numbers tells me that you may be not be ready to understand the answer. Now that is not any knock on you but rather a knock on mathematics education. There are no positive or negative complex numbers.
The complex numbers do not form an ordered field. Therefore it is not possible to have numbers compared to zero.
If [imath]n\in\mathbb{Z}^+~\&~z\in\mathbb{C}[/imath] there are [imath]n[/imath] [imath]n^{th}\text{roots of }z[/imath].