Using line equations to calculate a difference in rates of development

jakerm1995

I have two line equations representing two temperatures:

Temperature 25C: y= 0.7479x + 0.6586
Temperature 33C: y= 1.050x + 1.601

I am tasked with using these to work out the difference in development rates of a particular species under each temperature. Y= development time and x=Time. I am confused with how to use these two equations to calculate the difference in growth rate. As when I apply a percentage increase calculation to temperature 33, I calculate an 87% increase over 10 hours, and with the 25C i see a 92% increase over 10 hours. It should be that the 33C has a higher development rate and so my calculations must be wrong :/ I am very confused. I will post the graph here so you can understand better. Any suggestions are much appreciated (bare in mind, I am a noob at maths).
hgfvdghg.png

Not sure if I understand your question correctly.
At 25C, the growth rate is .7479, and at 33C, the growth rate is 1.050. Then, (1.050-.7479)/.7479= 40.4%. Meaning the growth rate of 33C is 40.4% faster than 25C.

Last edited:
Thanks for your response! Ah okay, I see. And what if I had to represent that value as 'standard developmental hours per degree per day (h/°C/day)?

Thanks for your response! Ah okay, I see. And what if I had to represent that value as 'standard developmental hours per degree per day (h/°C/day)?
What was the actual statement of the assignment? Before, you said,
I am tasked with using these to work out the difference in development rates of a particular species under each temperature.
What you evidently tried to work out yourself (wrongly), and BBB found for you, is the percent increase in development rate between two temperatures.

What you actually found yourself was the percent increase in age over some particular time intervals; since the growth is linear, not exponential, that is not a constant, and therefore is not an appropriate measurement.