Probability: There are three white balls in a pocket, a red ball (X), and a blue ball

chingutee

I'm an English teacher who is fifteen years out of practice on my maths ability, lol. A student that I'm tutoring asked me about this problem because she apparently had not been able to visit with her maths teacher today, but it's beyond what I remember how to do, and her exam is tomorrow. Would you help me with this?

"There are three white balls in a pocket, a red ball (X), and a blue ball (Y). When you take out one ball from this pocket, the odds of a white ball coming out are one-fourth, and the probability of a blue ball coming out is two-thirds. What is the value of y-x?"

Thanks in advance.

I'm an English teacher who is fifteen years out of practice on my maths ability, lol. A student that I'm tutoring asked me about this problem because she apparently had not been able to visit with her maths teacher today, but it's beyond what I remember how to do, and her exam is tomorrow. Would you help me with this?

"There are three white balls in a pocket, a red ball (X), and a blue ball (Y). When you take out one ball from this pocket, the odds of a white ball coming out are one-fourth, and the probability of a blue ball coming out is two-thirds. What is the value of y-x?"

I'm sorry for the long delay in replying; newcomers' questions often hide among others due to the delay in posting for moderation.

I don't understand the question. What do X and Y (and x and y) stand for? And did you really mean to use the word "odds", which is different from probability?

Perhaps you (or the author) meant to say this:

"There are three white balls in a pocket, x red balls, and y blue balls. When you take out one ball from this pocket, the probability of a white ball coming out is one-fourth, and the probability of a blue ball coming out is two-thirds. What is the value of y-x?"