more help with proof

mandolinwind

I am sorry if I am doing this wrong by posting a new topic, but I am new to this and was not sure if I should add to my old post or start a new one. :? Anyway... here is my problem: Prove that tangents to a circle at the endpoints of a diameter are parallel. State what is given, what is to be proved, and your plan for proof. Then write a two-column proof. It will help you to draw a diagram with the points labeled. Here is what I have so far: I drew circle labeled circle a, drawing diameter through it. (putting A as the center of the diameter) Then I drew my tangents at the endpoints and labeled them BC and DE.

Given- BC and DE are tangent to circle A at the endpoints of the diameter.
Prove-BC is parallel to DE
Plan: (here is where i get very confused!) BD id diameter of circle A. Diameter is semicircle =180 degrees, therefore BA=90 and AD=90. BC and DE are equidistant from midpoint A on circle A therefore they are parallel.

statement reason
1. BD is diameter of circle A given
2. A is midpoint of BD def of midpoint
3. BA=AD midpoint thm Thm 2-1
4. BC is equidistant from DE therefore
they are parallel

I know that this is probably wrong. I am horrible with proofs. Please help!
Also, I am sorry it took so long to get back to this post. Thanks in advance for any help!!!!! Kelly[/list][/list][/code]

wrote two column wrong

I typed my two-colum proof in a confusing way so am retyping it
statement../..reason

1. BD is diameter of circle A../.. given
2. A is the midpoint of BD../.. def of midpoint
3.BA=AD../.. midpoint therom Thm. 2-1
4. BC is equidistant from DE, therefore BC is parallel to DE../.. ?????

I'm not exactly sure what tools you have to apply to this problem. I'll just throw out a couple of things and see if they mean anything to you.

1) A tangent is perpendicular to a radius at the point of tangency
2) In a plane, lines perpendicular to the same line are parallel.