Equation Editor for the boards?

paulccarboni

Hey,
I'm an AP calc teacher and was browsing around for a site that could help my students if they have questions and can't reach me. So far, I like your site best. It's nice not to have to click on each reply to read them and you have a very user-friendly interface.

My question - is there any type of equation editor that allows students to post integrals, summation, etc? I saw some people included them in their posts, but I think it was just a picture they saved on their computer rather than a feature you provide.

If you don't have one, it would be a nice feature for you to add if you can find a way.

Thanks,
PC

Please clarify: what can "Equation Editor" (or "MathType", maybe?) do that these LaTeX-capable forums can't?

Thank you.

Eliz.

LaTeX samples (hit the "quote" button, above right, to see the coding for the below):

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{\int^{\frac{2\pi}{3}}_0{\,\sqrt{9\,-\,x^2}\,}dx}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{\sum^\infty_{i=0}{\;\frac{i!}{2^i}}}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{A\,\subseteq\,B\;\Longleftrightarrow\;x\,\in\,\left(C\cap D\right)^{\neg}}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{A^T\,=\,\left[\begin{array}{rrr}2&0&-3\\4&\frac{2}{5}&0\\0& -\frac{1}{3}&4\end{array}\right]}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{a_n\,=\,a_1\,+\,d(n\,-\,1)}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{x\,=\,\frac{-b\,\pm\,\sqrt{b^2\,-\,4ac}}{2a}}\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \large{\sin^2{(\theta)}\,+\,\cos{(2 \alpha)}\,+\,\tan{(\gamma)}}\)

You should see some buttons (4?) at the very top of the page. One of them should have a drop-down that covers LaTex, which is probably what you are seeing.
---------------------
Gene

Yes, you can use LaTeX code by typing your code inside TEX tags. To do this you simply click the TeX button right above the text box (it's in the same row as the bold, italic, and underline buttons).