spambots

galactus

Super Moderator
Staff member
Lately, I have noticed an inordinate amount of spam being posted by member names such as 'menssexualhealth' and 'adultsextoys'.

Spambots have become quite sophisticated, which leads me to blieve this is done by 'bots', not an individual, per se.

The system may be polluted with spyware. There is probably a way to eliminate this, but I am no expert.

Recently, I have gotten this when I try to log on:

"Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: User freemath_admin has already more than 'max_user_connections' active connections in /home/freemath/public_html/forum/db/mysql4.php on line 48

Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /home/freemath/public_html/forum/db/mysql4.php on line 330

Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /home/freemath/public_html/forum/db/mysql4.php on line 331
phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database"

Just a heads up. Maybe something to check out. Spyware can certainly cause trouble.

Ted, no doubt, you know more of computers than me, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

I've occasionally encountered the "too many connections" error, but I've always been able to get through by hitting "reload", so the error appears to be fairly transient.

The spam thing, on the other hand, is becoming quite an annoyance. The Admin knows, and spammers are being banned as they are encountered. With any luck, the usual pattern will be followed, and the spammers will move elsewhere after a short while.

Here's hopin'!

Eliz.

Good to hear. The error message is rather transient, as you said.

I am thinking 'bots' have something to do with the spam problem, though.

We'll see.