500 ft fencing needed to enclose 104-ft wide lot; find depth

bikersiggy

I am new to word problems. I normally don't have problems doing the equations and answering them. It is writing an equation from a word problem. Here is the problem:

If it takes 500 feet of fencing to enclose a rectangular lot that is 104 feet wide, then how deep is the lot?

I was thinking 104x + 4 = 500 :?

Any help would be appreciated. My book doesn't explain how to do this equation.

Re: Word Problem

On what basis did you arrive at "I was thinking 104x + 4 = 500"?

Your problem seems to involve the perimeter of a rectangle. Don't you suppose the formula for the perimeter of a rectangle would be involved? 2 times the width + 2 times the length = perimeter. Work with that and do some substituting and see what you can come up with.

Yes,
I am confused. Guess I need to know my math basics before I tempt to take a college algebra class, HUH!

I am still not sure what to do when I am missing a number.
So here goes: 102^2 x L^2= 500

here is the perimeter formula for a rectangle ...

P = 2(L + W)

change your mind?

bikersiggy said:
Yes,
I am confused. Guess I need to know my math basics before I tempt to take a college algebra class, HUH!

I am still not sure what to do when I am missing a number.
So here goes: 102^2 x L^2= 500

You're not dealing with area, so you're not going to square anything.

You said the lot was rectangular, and you're dealing with a perimeter of 500 feet. That's how much fencing it takes to enclose it.

Recall the formula for the perimeter of a rectangle \(\displaystyle P=2l + 2w\), where l = length and w = width.

Now we just substitute what we know into the perimeter equation and solve for what we don't know.

\(\displaystyle 500=2l + 2(104)\)

Solve for l. This will be your length (depth).

Sorry this is hard.
Here goes:
500= L (146) + 2 (104)
500= 292 + 208

Am I still wrong?

bikersiggy said:
Sorry this is hard.
Here goes:
500= L (146) + 2 (104)
500= 292 + 208