prob. plane's alternators fail; lifetime prob. of fatal acci

Mistyblu348

Good afternoon everyone and thank you in advance for your help!

I have a friend that needs help with a couple of probability problems. Although, I am a college instructor, my expertise does not lie here! So... I thought I would enlist some assistance...here are the problems:

1: A certain airplane has two independent alternators to provide electrical power. The probability that a given alternator will fail in a 1-hour flight is .02. What is the probability that (a) both will fail ?(b) Neither will fail? (c) one or the other will fail?

2: The probability is 1 in 4,000,000 that a single auto trip in the United States will result in a fatality. Over a lifetime, an average U.S. driver takes 50, 000 trips. (a) what is the probability of a fatal accident over a lifetime? Explain your reasoning. Hint: Assume independent events. why might the assumptions of independence be violated? (b) why might a driver be tempted not to use a seat belt :just on this trip"?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! I am such a liberal arts person and math is soo beyond me!

Mistyblu348

Mistyblu348 said:
I have a friend that needs help with a couple of probability problems. Although, I am a college instructor, my expertise does not lie here! So... I thought I would enlist some assistance...here are the problems:

1: A certain airplane has two independent alternators to provide electrical power. The probability that a given alternator will fail in a 1-hour flight is .02. What is the probability that (a) both will fail ?(b) Neither will fail? (c) one or the other will fail?