Speed, Time, Distance How to set up my equation

Hello, this is my first time here, please help me set up this equation:
Elevator accelerates upward at 3.125 m/s2 for 4.0 seconds to reach final speed;

a. if it starts at rest, what is final speed in meters per second?
b. what is final speed in miles per hour?

Does the 3.125 m/s2 translate to meters per or miles per second?
Thank You in advance

I sincerely hope you are not on an elevator with acceleration having anything to do with 3.125 miles per second!

Are you SURE this is beginning algebra?

Well it is Math 120 at my community college, so I could be wrong. This is one of the questions on our homework from our math dept.

49242 said:

Thank You in advance

I echo tkhunny's hope that you never experience an elevator with an acceleration of 3.125 miles / s^2. The results on your body would be unpleasant, I suspect.

Now, as for his question. If you are in beginning algebra, I presume you have been given a formula for this sort of question. What formula is in your books or notes?

If you are in AP physics or beginning calculus, I'll give you a hint: the answer requires integration over what interval?

49242 said:

Thank You in advance

I am sure that m/s^2 means meters per sec. per sec.

Assuming you have covered acceleration: The acceleration of a body is defined as the change in its velocity during an interval of time divided by the duration of the time interval. If Vo is the initial velocity at the beginning of the period of time and Vf is the final velocity at the end of the period of time, the change in velocity is Vo - Vf. If the velocity change occurs over the period of time t, the acceleration of the body is given by a = (Vo - Vf)/t.

The relationship between initial velocity, final velocity, distance covered and time, in uniformlay accelerated motion is defined mathematically by the following equation: