Logical Connectives

sar22bier

Having Problems with Truth Tables:

#1 (~p V q)-->p

I'm also having problems with this problem.
#2 Given p is true, q is true, and r is false, find the truth value of the statement ~p--> (q V~r).

Show step by step work.

sar22bier said:

#1 (~p V q)-->p

#2 Given p is true, q is true, and r is false, find the truth value of the statement ~p--> (q V~r).

Show step by step work.

I've never done a truth table before and I don't understand what I am doing. I also do not understand what it means to find a true value of a statement. Please help me!

sar22bier said:

#1 (~p V q)-->p

Show step by step work.

I've never done a truth table before and I don't understand what I am doing. I also do not understand what it means to find a true value of a statement. Please help me!

sar22bier said:
sar22bier said:

#1 (~p V q)-->p

Show step by step work.

There is no need to post the same question three times.

There is a very good article on truth tables in wikipedia.

The letters in this branch of mathematics stand for sentences (propositions).

Let's start with your second problem. You are given:

p T
q T
r F

If p is a true statement, which is what you have been told to assume, then ~p, meaning the opposite statement, is false. You can always get your mind around this stuff by substituting a specific example. Suppose p is "Tom is a cat." You are told that p is true. So, in that case, the opposite statement that "Tom is not a cat" must be false. Right? OK So the truth table can be expanded.

p T
q T
r F
~p F

Now what about r. You are told that r is false. Let's say r is "Pete is a dog." But it is a false statement. So what is ~r. Why it is the statement that "Pete is not a dog." And that is true. So the truth table can be expanded.

p T
q T
r F
~p F
~r T