Free Gcse Help

jeff1949

The length of a rectangle is 3m less than the width. The area of the rectangle is 7m2
Find an estimate for the width of the triangle.

See, you didn't do the "show your best efforts" part.

Note: "Estimate" problems are intended to be a little vague. This is also a good method to begin any problem. On the GCSE, you don't always have time to be particularly formal. You must improve your skills at estimating.

Learn to dump information:

Rectangle.
4 right angles
2 pair of parallel sides
Width (W) and Length (L)
Perimiter 2W+2L
Area W*L -- Aha!! There is one we can use on this problem.

Sorry I did say i was a beginner. What did you mean by "give it your best efforts"

I can understand the parts about 4x90 angles in a rectangle and two opposite sets of angles but how do measure the area of a rectangle which is 7m squared. I know you don't give out full tutorials but i just don't understand the question?

Ted,

The question should read rectangle not triangle. I can see if you add the two widths, 2m each and the two lengths 1.5m then added together it would make 7m squared. eg (2+2+1.5+1.5 = 7, but how do i make it 3 metres less?

Let's start all over.

First if you read the Read Before Posting you will see that it is a great help if you tell us not just the problem but what you have already done to solve it. That way we can figure out where you are stuck and not waste your time and ours.

The length of a rectangle is 3m less than the width. The area of the rectangle is 7m2
Find an estimate for the width of the
rectangle.

A good first step is to write down concisely but carefully some definitions. Stick a letter in for unknowns.

Width of rectangle = W.
Length of rectangle = L.
Area of rectangle = A = 7m[sup:acf46vov]2[/sup:acf46vov].

Now see if you can relate those definitions in some logical way.

What is the area of a rectangle? This problem assumes that you know this fact.

A = W * L, right?