Probability Problem

prob2013

I am a teacher (social sciences, civics and law), but not a math teacher. I am developing a probability or statistic problem for the class and I need help determining the right result. It involves multiple events and the purpose is to use statistics and probability in proving a case of nuisance. The scenario is below. Please help me determine the probability and if you can clarify it a little for me, please help as well.

I got the result of 100% for the first event (event A) and event B I got 50%. I do not know if this is right or not. It has been a long time since I have performed statistics. But, I figured it is a good exercise for the class.

Scenario: Gary has been out of school for some time. He receives an email stating he registered for class on the school's system, but he did not and someone else used his email address. This email was sent on his birthday. The only way to register was to have access to Gary's school account (username and password). In this event, Gary's information was changed as well.

Three months later, Gary gets another email stating he registered for class but on a different school site (this school will be called the second school). Again, someone has used his email address. But, Gary does not use the second school's site and has not ever used the second school's site. This email was also sent on his wife's birthday.

What is the statistics or probability of this happening?

I am a teacher (social sciences, civics and law), but not a math teacher.
I am developing a probability or statistic problem for the class and I need help determining the right
It involves multiple events and the purpose is to use statistics and probability in proving a case of
nuisance. The scenario is below. Please help me determine the probability and if you can clarify it a
little for me, please help as well.

I got the result of 100% for the first event (event A) and event B I got 50%.