What statistic to use? Weighting of word frequencies in psychology research study...

mcdunley

Hi there,
I am a psychology researcher and new to this forum. I am currently trying to figure out if there is an appropriate statistical test that I can use to compare the outcome of two separate experimental studies that I have performed. Let me briefly explain the scenario...

I conducted an initial study which involved priming people to think about death or some other topic before presenting them with word fragments that could be completed in a death-related or death-neutral fashion (i.e. to assess whether or not those primed with death would produce a greater number of death-related word fragment completions). For instance, participants were presented with a word fragment such as D_ _ d that could be completed as dead/died or dust. The measure I used was a standard measure in this particular research area but I discovered that participants tended to favour certain word fragment completions over others irrespective of priming etc. For instance, participants completed the word fragment such as Coff_ _ as Coffee 70/72 times. Upon further investigation, I discovered that participants were biased towards particular word fragment completions that had higher word frequencies, suggesting that the measure had some element of bias rather than having constructed word fragments with counter-balanced death-related and death-neutral completions of similar word frequency. This appeared to be what was biasing participants' responses towards particular word fragments.