Probability of rolling at least one 6 in 3 tries.

Hoodleehoo

Can someone explain this to me? I'm studying for the GRE and am stuck on this concept.

"If you roll a dice three times, what is the probability of rolling a 6 at least once?"

The correct answer is 91/216

I can figure it out by calculating the chance of not rolling any 6's and then subtracting it from 1,but I can't figure out how to calculate it directly.

I tried 1/6 + 1/6 + 1/6 but that = 1/2. What am I missing?? I thought I understood the concept, but obviously I don't. The book says for "or" questions to use addition (assuming mutually exclusive). This one really tripped me up.

Thanks so much in advance!!

Can someone explain this to me? I'm studying for the GRE and am stuck on this concept.
"If you roll a dice three times, what is the probability of rolling a 6 at least once?"
The correct answer is 91/216
There are \(\displaystyle 6\cdot 6\cdot 6\) ways to roll three dice.
In those \(\displaystyle 216\) ways there are \(\displaystyle 5\cdot 5\cdot 5=125\) ways not to roll a six.

The opposite of none is at least one.

There are \(\displaystyle 6\cdot 6\cdot 6\) ways to roll three dice.
In those \(\displaystyle 216\) ways there are \(\displaystyle 5\cdot 5\cdot 5=125\) ways not to roll a six.

The opposite of none is at least one.

Right I can do it that way. But why doesn't 1/6 + 1/6 + 1/6 work? Can't it be restated "what is the probability of rolling a 6 on the first roll OR a 6 on the second roll OR a 6 on the third roll"? In which case you'd add the three fractions together.

Right I can do it that way. But why doesn't 1/6 + 1/6 + 1/6 work? Can't it be restated "what is the probability of rolling a 6 on the first roll OR a 6 on the second roll OR a 6 on the third roll"? In which case you'd add the three fractions together.