Measuring film: find the roll length of used roll using ruler to measure its radius

Selv

Hi all I am new so I am unsure which forum to post my question in.

I work in a warehouse and do stock counts a lot. I need to measure rolls of film. I know the dimensions of a full roll and the total length of the roll.
What I want to do is find the roll length of a used roll using a ruler to measure its radius.
Is this possible? If so can someone help me with a formula???
I currently use the roll weight to work out roll length comparing to a new roll, but some rolls are too heavy to weigh.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
And sorry again if I have posted this in the wrong forum

Hi all I am new so I am unsure which forum to post my question in.

I work in a warehouse and do stock counts a lot. I need to measure rolls of film. I know the dimensions of a full roll and the total length of the roll.
What I want to do is find the roll length of a used roll using a ruler to measure its radius.
Is this possible? If so can someone help me with a formula???
I currently use the roll weight to work out roll length comparing to a new roll, but some rolls are too heavy to weigh.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
And sorry again if I have posted this in the wrong forum

These calculations - although simple - will need calculator (because you'll need to calculate square root of numbers).

In addition, calculation of length through measuring diameter will involve several assumptions - thus will not be as accurate as the weight method.

I work in a warehouse and do stock counts a lot. I need to measure rolls of film. I know the dimensions of a full roll and the total length of the roll. What I want to do is find the roll length of a used roll using a ruler to measure its radius.

Is this possible? If so can someone help me with a formula?