Application of differential: jet is flying due east at 12mil/min...

crankerbeat

Hi all.. I'm newbie here. FYI, i'm still new in calculus and a little bit slow for solving the problem regarding in this course. Is there anybody can help me to solve this problem? :(

1. At time t= 0, single engine military jet is flying due east at 12mil/min. At the same altitude and 208 miles directly ahead of the military jet, still at time t=0, a commercial jet is flying due north at 8mil/min. When are the two planes closest to each other? What is the minimum distance between them?:(

2. Suppose that it costs 1+(0.003)v^3/2 dollars per mile to operate a truck at v miles per hour. If there are additional costs (such as the driver's pay) of $10/hr, what speed would minimize the total cost of a 1000-mil-trip?

3. Find the volume of the unbounded solid generated by rotating the unbounded region of the graph y=e^-x and the x-axis for x>=1. (Hint: Firstly sketch the graph and compute the volume from x=1 to x=b, where b>1. Then find the limit of this volume as b-->infinity.) What happen if y=1/root(2,x) instead?At time t= 0, single engine military jet is flying due east at 12mil/min. at the same altitude and 208 miles directly ahead of the military jet, still at time t=0, a commercial jet is flying due north at 8mil/min. when are the two planes closest to each other? what is the minimum distance between them?

Can somebody show me the solutions with steps. Thanks a lot.

Hi all.. I'm newbie here. FYI, i'm still new in calculus and a little bit slow for solving the problem regarding in this course. Is there anybody can help me to solve this problem? :(

1. At time t= 0, single engine military jet is flying due east at 12mil/min. At the same altitude and 208 miles directly ahead of the military jet, still at time t=0, a commercial jet is flying due north at 8mil/min. When are the two planes closest to each other? What is the minimum distance between them?:(