Combinations using choose function (8 boys and 5 girls)

jullunety

Question:
Among Tom's friends, there are 8 boys and 5 girls. In how many ways can he invite 2 of the boys and 3 of the girls to a party?

I am new to probability and I know that I can use the multiplication rule or the choose function, but both methods give me different answers.

Multiplication rule
Since there are only 2 boys he can choose so I would do this
(2 x 1 x 3 x 2 x 1) = 12 ways

Choose function

(13) (11)
( 2 ) x ( 3) = 12870 ways. or (13C2) x (11C3) = 12870 ways

Am I doing it all wrong? If so, how would you solve this problem through these 2 methods? Thanks in advance. :D

Last edited:
Question:
Among Tom's friends, there are 8 boys and 5 girls. In how many ways can he invite 2 of the boys and 3 of the girls to a party?

I am new to probability and I know that I can use the multiplication rule or the choose function, but both methods give me different answers.

Multiplication rule
Since there are only 2 boys he can choose so I would do this
(2 x 1 x 3 x 2 x 1) = 12 ways
What you've done here is to count permutations, not combinations. This is the number of ways he can order 2 boys, then 3 girls, who have already been chosen! You didn't even use the total numbers of boys and girls.

If you were not allowed to use the combination formula, you might say there are 8x7 ways to choose the boys, 5x4x3 ways to choose the girls, and then you'd have to divide by the number of different orders in which the 5 who are chosen could stand in a row, each of which counts as the same combination. I wouldn't bother trying to do it that way.
Choose function
(13) (11)
( 2 ) x ( 3) = 12870 ways. or (13C2) x (11C3) = 12870 ways

Am I doing it all wrong? If so, how would you solve this problem through these 2 methods?