Help w/ composition fcns f(g(x)), g(f(x)), given f(x) = (2/x), g(x) = x^2+x-1

Lucas3216

Hi, good night.

I am a student who try to learn calculus alone(maybe it be a impossible task), but, let's go to the problem:

Determine the composite functions f(g(x)) and g(f(x)) and the values of x(if they exist) for which f(g(x)) = g(f(x))

31)f(x) = (2/x), g(x) = x^2+x-1

I make this:

f(g(x)) = 2/(x^2+x-1)

and for g(f(x)):

g(f(x)) = [ (2/x) ]^2 + [ (2/x) ] - 1

If we solve to g(f(x))

(4 + 2x - x^2)/(x^2)

well, my problems just start here, because i need to make f(g(x)) = g(f(x))

2/(x^2 + x -1) = (4 + 2x - x^2)/(x^2)

here i made a multiplication and i got this:

2x^2 = (x^2 + x - 1)(4 + 2x - x^2)

2x^2 = 4x^2 + 2x^3 - x^4 + 4x + 2x^2 - x^3 - 4 -2x + x^2

2x^2 = -x^4 + 2x^3 - x^3 + 2x^2 + 4x^2 + x^2 + 4x -2x - 4

2x^2 = -x^4 + x^3 + 7x^2 + 2x - 4 → This is correct

Ok, so now, i can't solve the problem.Anyone can help?

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi, good night.

I am a student who try to learn calculus alone(maybe it be a impossible task), but, let's go to the problem:

Determine the composite functions f(g(x)) and g(f(x)) and the values of x(if they exist) for which f(g(x)) = g(f(x))

31)f(x) = (2/x), g(x) = x^2+x-1

I make this:

f(g(x)) = 2/(x^2+x-1)

and for g(f(x)):

g(f(x)) = [ (2/x) ]^2 + [ (2/x) ] - 1

If we solve to g(f(x))

(4 + 2x - x^2)/(x^2)

well, my problems just start here, because i need to make f(g(x)) = g(f(x))

2/(x^2 + x -1) = (4 + 2x - x^2)/(x^2)

here i made a multiplication and i got this:

2x^2 = (x^2 + x - 1)(4 + 2x - x^2)

2x^2 = 4x^2 + 2x^3 - x^4 + 4x + 2x^2 - x^3 - 4 -2x + x^2

2x^2 = -x^4 + 2x^3 - x^3 + 2x^2 + 4x^2 + x^2 + 4x -2x - 4

2x^2 = -x^4 + x^3 + 7x^2 + 2x - 4 → This is correct

Ok, so now, i can't solve the problem.Anyone can help?

This equation does not have "rational roots". The only way I see to solve this is through numerical methods.