newbie DE question: "y'' + y = o is important because it appears in physics." How?

Vol

newbie DE question: "y'' + y = o is important because it appears in physics." How?

A differential equation like y'' + y = o is important because it appears in physics. I am confused. How does it appear in physics? Because doesn't y stand for f(x) which can be any function? like x^2 + 1 So, without knowing the actual function in terms of x, how does solving y'' + y = 0 help? I know this is probably a bad question. But I am a newbie. Do you plug in f(x) after you solve for y?

A differential equation like y'' + y = o is important because it appears in physics. I am confused. How does it appear in physics? Because doesn't y stand for f(x) which can be any function? like x^2 + 1 So, without knowing the actual function in terms of x, how does solving y'' + y = 0 help? I know this is probably a bad question. But I am a newbie. Do you plug in f(x) after you solve for y?

1) "plug in" doesn't mean anything.
2) This is the beauty of Differential Equations. You do not need to know the nature of the function to have a conversation about it.
3) Often time, yes, you do find an actual function and substitute it for y. This is known as a demonstration or usually, in a problem statement, it is said, "demonstrate that" or "show that".

To understand the workings behind solving basic ODE's some linear algebra knowledge is necessary. A homogeneous equation like the one you posted can only have two linearly independent general solutions that form to give the general solution. Once you find two of them, any two, you have solved the equation.

To solve

\(\displaystyle y'' + y=0\)

means to find (all) functions \(\displaystyle y=f(x)\) (or \(\displaystyle f(t), etc\)) whose acceleration is equal to the negative of the functions value at any give input/time.