Rationalizing denominators using conjugate surds: Why use fraction w/ num. = denom.?

Deano

Hi, I am very new to this topic and I am having a difficult time trying to understand the concept behind this certain aspect of the topic Logarithms.

When trying to rationalize the denominator, I don't understand why I must multiply it by a fraction with the same numerator and denominator. Like the example here:

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \dfrac{3}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\, =\, \dfrac{3}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\, \left(\dfrac{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\right)\, =\, \dfrac{3}{2}\, \sqrt{\strut 2\,}\)

Surely i could just make the numerator 1 and the denominator square root of 2 right?

Attachments

• conjugate.PNG
    conjugate.PNG
    82.2 KB · Views: 7
Last edited by a moderator:
Hi, I am very new to this topic and I am having a difficult time trying to understand the concept behind this certain aspect of the topic Logarithms.

When trying to rationalize the denominator, I don't understand why I must multiply it by a fraction with the same numerator and denominator. Like the example here:

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \dfrac{3}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\, =\, \dfrac{3}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\, \left(\dfrac{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}{\sqrt{\strut 2\,}}\right)\, =\, \dfrac{3}{2}\, \sqrt{\strut 2\,}\)

Surely i could just make the numerator 1 and the denominator square root of 2 right?
When trying to rationalize the denominator, you don't want to change the value of your given expression. When you multiply it by a fraction with the same numerator and denominator, you are effectively multiplying by one (1). So the value of your original expression remain the same (in your case 3/√2) to justify the "=" sign.