Find the slope of the tangent line on f at x=1

anneheather98

So I'm studying for my first calculus exam. I've been stuck on this problem for hours now.
f0a351edf18279e0d30a0aada53bbb64.png
So I used this formula: lim h->0 f(x+h)-f(x) / h

After evaluating all this out and trying to remove the radical on the top it becomes a giant mess. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, I don't think this problem is supposed to take so incredibly long. If anybody could help me I'd appreciate it a lot. Thanks!

So I'm studying for my first calculus exam. I've been stuck on this problem for hours now.
View attachment 10265
So I used this formula: lim h->0 f(x+h)-f(x) / h

After evaluating all this out and trying to remove the radical on the top it becomes a giant mess. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, I don't think this problem is supposed to take so incredibly long. If anybody could help me I'd appreciate it a lot. Thanks!

I hope you did not use that formula. That would be totally wrong.

Try this one: lim h->0 [f(x+h)-f(x)] / h

View attachment 10265
So I used this formula: lim h->0 [f(x+h)-f(x)] / h

We generally only use the definition of the derivative directly, when there is a good reason to (such as when we have no other way, or when a teacher requires it on an exam). Were you explicitly told to use the definition? Have you learned the product rule and other properties of derivatives that can be used to do this? If the answers are "no" and "yes", then I would use the product rule.

There is a reason we move beyond the definition. By first proving the various rules, and then using them to find derivatives, we save an immense amount of unnecessary work.