Tan, Cos, and Sin... To the nearest degree.

Masonan

I can't quite figure out what my textbook is asking of me. I have a chart that compares degrees with their cos, sin, and tan values. The questions include the phrase: "to the nearest degree". I'm not sure what they mean by this. For instance

1) Find angle 'B' with hypotenuse '9' and opposite '3' to the nearest degree.

The equation works out like this:

sin=3/9=1/3
sin=.3333

I can see one possible answer for this:

A) 19 degrees = .3256 (.3333 - .3256 = 77)
B) 20 degrees = .3420 (.3420 - .3333 = 87)

Obviously since the sine of '19 degrees' is both before the actual sine of this answer on the sin chart and is actually the closest, it is the correct answers.

This is where I'm confused

2) Find the value of Angle A where the adjacent side = 10 and the opposite side = 5

The equation works out like this:

Tan = 5/10 = 1/2
Tan = .5000

Which answer would be correct?

A) 27 degrees = Tan .5095 (.5095 - .5000 = 95)
B) 26 degrees = Tan .4877 (.5000 = .4877 = 123)

A is technically the closest in difference, but B is the closest without going over the number. Which one is correct? The book doesn't explain this.

3) Cos _____ = 0.96 to the nearest degree
16 degrees or 17 degrees? Same issue

Thanks for the help. You guys are great.

I don't know how to use a scientific calculator to check my answer. Any explanation?

Masonan said:
I can't quite figure out what my textbook is asking of me ... "to the nearest degree". I'm not sure what they mean by this.

This instruction is asking you to round to the nearest degree. But the rounding is taking place with the ratios, instead of with the actual angle value.