Thread: Regression Equation to find Y Intercept?

Question Regression Equation to find Y Intercept?

I am a graduate who is looking over past exam papers for statistics. Basically starting from scratch in my learning since I absorbed very little from when I did it in uni (was compulsory for psychology students to take statistics for two of the four years of the degree).
    I have a question based on Regression, and I'm struggling to get it. See below. I have a feeling it could be super obvious, but here goes.

"Consider the following regression equation:

Y = 50 +2A - 10B + 8C

1-What is the Y intercept?
    2-What Y would you predict for a case where A=3, B=1, and C=0?"

I'm confused because I know the linear regression equation to be y = ax + b (or whatever variation you may use) with a being the gradient and b being the intercept in this case. So I'm not sure how this new equation fits into that structure - or if it's even meant to?

Thanks.

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Reboika View Post

Y = 50 +2A - 10B + 8C

How are A, B, and C defined? Are they just constants, so "50 + 2A - 10B + 8C" is just a number, and the equation is like "y = 0x + b = b"?

Quote Originally Posted by stapel View Post
    How are A, B, and C defined? Are they just constants, so "50 + 2A - 10B + 8C" is just a number, and the equation is like "y = 0x + b = b"?
    Ohhh....that would make sense (I think). So this is more of an algebra question? With the "50 + 2A etc" representing the intercept, so the question is asking me to solve the equation?

Cool

Ohhh....that would make sense (I think). So this is more of an algebra question? With the "50 + 2A etc" representing the intercept,...
    If A, B, and C are defined (somewhere) as being constants then, yes, I think they're asking for the y-intercept of y = 0x + b, so the slope is m = 0 (the line is horizontal) and the y-intercept is at y = b.

so the question is asking me to solve the equation?