Please NEED help on polynomial find possible values of k

moeyahmed

Please NEED help on quadratic find possible values of k

Hello
I need help I have been stuck on this question for quite a while I'm currently studying for a exam (yr 11)

The question I'm stuck with states that :

If 2kx^2-4kx+4k=4x-7 has distinct roots find the possible values of k

Any help on this question is appreciated

:)
thank you

Last edited:
If 2kx^2-4kx+4k=4x-7 has distinct roots find the possible values of k
This is a quadratic:

. . . . .\(\displaystyle 2kx^2\, -\, 4kx\, +\, 4k\, =\, 4x\, -\, 7\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle 2kx^2\, -\, 4kx\, -\, 4x\, +\, 4k\, +\, 7\, =\, 0\)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle 2k\, (x^2)\, +\, (-4k\, -\, 4)\, x\, +\, (4k\, +\, 7)\, =\, 0\)

Apply the Quadratic Formula, with:

. . . . .\(\displaystyle a\, =\, 2k,\, b\, =\, -4k\, -\, 4,\, c\, =\, 4k\, +\, 7\)

Note that, in order to have distinct (non-equal) roots, the "plus-minus" part has to be something other than zero (so that the "plus-minus" adds to and subtracts from the rest of the numerator, yielding different values). So, to find the values of "k" which will fulfill the requirements, first find the value(s) of "k" which will cause the discriminant (the insides of the square root) to be zero. Then the solution will be all other values of "k".

By the way, the above assumes that you're allowed to have complex-valued solutions. If you have to stick with real-number solutions, then you'll also need to be sure that the discriminant isn't negative, either.

If you get stuck, please reply showing your progress in following the above instructions. Thank you! ;)

. . . . .\(\displaystyle a\, =\, 2k,\, b\, =\, -4k\, -\, 4,\, c\, =\, 4k\, +\, 7\)