Infinity: Are 1/0 and 2/0 same or we have different infinities ?

juvekaradheesh

We know that anything divided by 0 is infinity.
eg. 1/0 = ∞ , since, if you were to divide 1 into zero pieces, you would need to divide an infinite number of times.

similarly2/0 = ∞ .

So,
1. Are 1/0 and 2/0 same or we have different infinities ?
2. 2/0-1/0 = 1/0 , so we still have infinity so is 2/0 bigger infinity than 1/0 ?

eg. 1/0 = ∞ , since, if you were to divide 1 into zero pieces, you would need to divide an infinite number of times.

similarly2/0 = ∞ .

So,
2. 2/0-1/0 = 1/0 , so we still have infinity so is 2/0 bigger infinity than 1/0 ?

Are these questions for your homework at school - or are these your "privete" query?

It's my private query but does it matter ?
Yes, it matters very much. We do not do homework or help with test questions

The philosopher Kermit Scott said to me "infinity is where mathematicians hide their ignorance."
As a mathematician, I say that infinity is where here the general public shows its ignorance of mathematics.

If you learn nothing else about this topic, learn this: INFINITY IS NOT A NUMBER.
No one can divide by a non-number. Division is the inverse of multiplication on a well-defined number system.
The adjective infinite is used to describe the numerosity of a set. Sets are either finite or infinite. A finite set is one that can be listed using a bounded set of counting numbers, (technically known as an initial sequence in the natural numbers). A set is infinite if it is not finite.

The expression \(\displaystyle \Large\dfrac{2}{\infty}\) is totally meaningless.

Last edited:
It's my private query but does it matter ?
Of course pka is correct but as someone who likes to play around with numbers, I take shortcuts sometimes so that, yes is some esoteric sense but maybe only sometimes
\(\displaystyle \frac{2}{0}\, -\, \frac{1}{0}\, =\, \frac{1}{0}\, =\, \infty\)