Help calculating 2 areas

Larkula

So i'm new to maths and apparently not very good with it.
I have this two exercises where i have to calculate the area of the blue portions together as the picture below shows.
My strategy for the first one is to calculate the area of the bigger circle, divide it by 2. Then i calculate the area of the smaller circles. In the end i just subtract the smaller ones from the bigger circle. I know i'm getting it wrong because i have the final answers.
As for the second exercise i'm using the same logic but not getting anywhere close to the real answer.
Help, pretty please!

Attachments

• IMG_20161023_011708 (1).jpg
    IMG_20161023_011708 (1).jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 3
I have this two exercises where i have to calculate the area of the blue portions together as the picture below shows.

attachment.php

My strategy for the first one is to calculate the area of the bigger circle, divide it by 2. Then i calculate the area of the smaller circles. In the end i just subtract the smaller ones from the bigger circle. I know i'm getting it wrong because i have the final answers.
What were your steps? What was your final result? For instance, you noted that |AC| = 4, so the radius R of the larger (whole) circle (of which half is shaded) is R = 4. You then found the area of the entire circle (getting what value?) and then divided by 2 (getting what value?). Then you noted what must be the value of the radius r of the smaller circles. You also noted that the two unshaded half-circles form one whole (unshaded) circle. You found this circle's area (by what steps? getting what value?), and subtracted this from the area of the larger (shaded) half-circle, and... then what?

As for the second exercise i'm using the same logic but not getting anywhere close to the real answer.
On what logical basis are you using the same steps to find such a very different area?

Please be complete, showing all of your thoughts and steps. Thank you! ;)

My approach