trigonometry, trigonometric identities, hyperbolic functions

jimkeller1993

i have been off college for a couple of weeks and have missed relevant information on an assignment, i have never done this before and i am completely clueless at to where to go, can anybody show me how to tackle any of these

A)

Prove the following trignometric identities

√(1-cos^2 θ)/(cos^2 θ) = tanθ

(3π/2 + ϕ) = sin ϕ

B)

solve the following trigonometric equations in the range 0 deg to 360 deg

2 sec ^ 2
ϕ + 5 tan ϕ = 3

C)

Prove the hyperbolic identities

coth x
≡ 2 cosech 2 x + tan x

D)

given 5e^x - 4e^-x ≡A sinh x + B cosh x

Find A and B

Prove the following trignometric identities

√(1-cos^2 θ)/(cos^2 θ) = tanθ

(3π/2 + ϕ) = sin ϕ

For the first one, one of the Pythagorean Identities says that \(\displaystyle sin^2(\theta) + cos^2(\theta)=1\). What does that tell you about the value of \(\displaystyle 1-cos^2(\theta)\)? Next, because of the periodicity of sine and cosine, we can safely assume that \(\displaystyle 0 \le \theta \le 2\pi\) (or \(\displaystyle 0^\circ \le \theta \le 360^\circ\)), meaning that theta is always positive. Returning to the rules you learned in algebra, what can you say about \(\displaystyle \sqrt{f^2(x)}\) if x is guaranteed to be positive? Finally, recall the basic identity that \(\displaystyle tan(\theta)=\dfrac{sin(\theta)}{cos(\theta)}\).

As for the second "identity." that's not really an identity. An identity means that the equation must hold for all values. If we plug in, say, pi/2 (90 degrees), we can see the equation doesn't hold:

\(\displaystyle \dfrac{3\pi}{2} + \dfrac{\pi}{2} = sin \left(\dfrac{\pi}{2} \right) \implies 2\pi = 1\)

Oops. That's not true. 6.28... does not equal 1! Perhaps revisit the problem and clarify any typos you (or possibly the book) may have made. :)

Solve the following trigonometric equations in the range 0 deg to 360 deg

2sec^2(ϕ) + 5 tan(ϕ) = 3