Year 10 Algebra & Quadratics: A paving tile has the shape and dimensions shown....

JoshRulz

Hi there,

I'm currently studying Algebra & Quadratics in my Year 10 class. I came across this question which I found incredibly difficult to understand. My teacher was kind enough to help me out with it but my teacher, parents and uncle all don't understand how they got their answers. Could somebody please help me? It'd be much appreciated.

Question:

Algebra & Quadratics, Part 1 of Chapter 3
Factorising Using Common Factors 3.2
Open-Ended
Q13.
A paving tile has the shape and dimensions shown (x x x x y). Find two sets of values for x and y so that the volume (in cm3) has numerically the same value as the surface area (in cm2). The values do not have to be integers.
I've been told by my teacher that the answers are x = 12, y = 3; x = 8, y = 4

If somebody could help me understand how they got that answer, it'd be awesome, it's been baffling my whole family and I for the past week. I tried asking people on Quora but I have since had no luck.

Thanks.

Kind Regards,
Josh.

Write an equation that says volume = surface area.

Then solve that equation for y. (Or you could solve for x if you prefer.)

Pick any x such that both x and y will be positive, and calculate y. So there are infinitely many solutions; several involve integers.

Let's see your equation and any other work you can do, and we can discuss further.

Hi Dr. Peterson,

Sorry I took so long to reply, I've been trying to finally answer the question. I've done what you recommended, and have worked out that the volume (432) and the surface area (36) are the answers to part of it. Basically saying that the volume = surface area has been converted to 432 = 36. I'm still not quite getting it though. I've tried solving the equation for both x and y and still cannot find the answer.
Would it be possible if I could send through a photo maybe of the question and then you could help me work it out, step by step if possible?