Z-test and clowns: A surprising number of people are scared of clowns....

fjord

Hi there,

This is my first time using a platform like this but I'm stumped with what's probably a simple task but I don't know where to start. If anyone could help that'd be really appreciated. Thanks all, Fjord.

Question:

A surprising number of people are scared of clowns. You expect that people will have more nightmares the night that they see clowns at the circus. To test this, you send a group of people to a circus with clowns, and a group to a circus without clowns, and measure the number of people in each group who have nightmares that night. Your data is shown below:

NightmaresNice dreams
No clowns1235
Clowns308
Task: Perform a Z-test on nightmares after the no-clown circus minus nightmares after the clown circus. Report the test statistic.

A surprising number of people are scared of clowns. You expect that people will have more nightmares the night that they see clowns at the circus. To test this, you send a group of people to a circus with clowns, and a group to a circus without clowns, and measure the number of people in each group who have nightmares that night.

Your data is shown below:

NightmaresNice dreams
No clowns 1235
Clowns 308

Task: Perform a Z-test on "nightmares after the no-clown circus" minus "nightmares after the clown circus". Report the test statistic.

I'm stumped with what's probably a simple task but I don't know where to start.
Do you know what a "z-test" is? Thank you! ;)

Hi there,

This is my first time using a platform like this but I'm stumped with what's probably a simple task but I don't know where to start. If anyone could help that'd be really appreciated. Thanks all, Fjord.

Question: