a little confused INeedSomeHelp

View attachment 31241
i am an older student trying to understand my college algbra class. any insights
Let [imath]D_1[/imath] be the distance train 1 traveled, [imath]D_2[/imath] be the distance train 2 traveled, and [imath]t[/imath] be the time elapsed (in hours) elapsed since train 2 traveled. Since train 1 had a 45 minutes head start, we have
[math]D_1=45+60t\\ D_2=75t[/math]Solve for [imath]t[/imath] when the distance is the same. Once you have the time when the trains meet, the distance will follow.

View attachment 31241
i am an older student trying to understand my college algbra class. any insights
There are several rather different ways you could solve this, using algebra or not. I'd like to see any attempt you have made, so we can use your own ideas to proceed. Also, what topic are you currently covering, which could give a hint as to how you are expected to solve it.

I would tend to make time the variable. But be careful: Use either hours or minutes, but not a mix of both!

(It is also possible to express both times in terms of a variable representing the distance traveled. That will lead to a rather different equation.)

any insights
Hi INSH. Draw a picture, to help organize the given info. Let time begin when the second, faster train (B) departs. Let time equal t hr, when the trains meet.

You could use a dotted line to represent the first, slower train's head-start distance. Then use the given rates to label the three distances. (Convert 45min to hour, before expressing the head-start distance because the rates are both given in terms of hours.)

Do you understand how BigBeachBanana determined that train B's distance is 75t (miles)?

3BAC1422-F231-4C77-8367-92DB31F023F2.jpeg

:)

[imath]\;[/imath]

Last edited:
Organize your data first. cross out superfluous stuff that doesn't bring you anything towards solution.
Important data
Train travels at 60 km/h
45 minutes later another train leaves the station.