Calculating the speed of an object going through multiple distance & acceleration phases

Shylo132

Hello,

I am a Game Designer for Faceless Mirage Studio and ran into my own little problem of advanced math.

Current formula's I have been attempting to use:

a=dv/dt

Attachment is my current excel sheet, I can calculate per zone, but currently unable to calculate each zone as the initial velocity has changed and being able to apply that new initial velocity with the new multiplier. To my knowledge, each zone should be cleared faster than my current math due to the increasing speed as the object continues to accelerate, even at reduced speed through each zone.

-----------

Current Math Problem:

Unit of measurement is meters and meters per second (m, m/s)

Spaceship starts at 0 velocity and 0 acceleration at position 0 at the very beginning of Zone A

Spaceship has default value of 10m/s acceleration (A)
There are 5 zones consisting of the following:
Zone A:
Modifies acceleration by (A*7) = 70m/s
Total Length of 750m
Zone B:
Modifies acceleration by (A*6) = 60m/s
Total Length of 1200m
Zone C:
Modifies acceleration by (A*5) = 50m/s
Total Length of 1800m
Zone D:
Modifies acceleration by (A*4) = 40m/s
Total Length of 2500m
Zone E:
Modifies acceleration by (A*3) = 30m/s
Total Length of 3000m

What is the max speed the spaceship will be when it reaches the total distance of 9250m (Sum of all zone distances) when accelerating through all 5 zones in succession.

If this is able to be solved, I then need to understand how to calculate it in reverse so I can apply this for deceleration.

I appreciate any and all help, thank you so much in advance, I will answer and learn as much as you guys let me.

Attachments

• Acceration Issue.png
    Acceration Issue.png
    30.3 KB · Views: 2
I think you need to go back and check the problem statement again. What you have written makes no sense.