Can't solve this equation ,pls help

AndreH383

Hello guys, I just started studying irrational functions and I'm stuck at this equation. The solutions say the result is X=1 but I can't seem to get there.
16227591223276198260745546342966.jpg

Try squaring both sides. Then isolate the term that has the square root to one side of the equation and square again.

You should see one solution that works without doing any work. The question is are there two solutions that work.

Reactions: lex
Hello guys, I just started studying irrational functions and I'm stuck at this equation. The solutions say the result is X=1 but I can't seem to get there.
View attachment 27622
There are several typical mistakes people make on these, so we can't tell which one you're making without seeing your work (in some detail).

That's a big reason we ask you to show work:

Just out of interest

[MATH]\sqrt{2x-1}=1-\sqrt{x-1}[/MATH]
[MATH]\sqrt{x-1}[/MATH] shows that [MATH]\boxed{\;x≥1\;}[/MATH]
[MATH]\sqrt{2x-1}=[/MATH]1-[MATH]\sqrt{1-x}[/MATH] means [MATH]2x-1≤[/MATH]1 [MATH]\text{ so }\boxed{\;x≤1\;}[/MATH]
[MATH]x≥1 \text{ and } x≤1 \text{ so } x=1.[/MATH]
Now check to see if x=1 is a solution of the original equation - which it clearly is.

Last edited:
View attachment 27622
Following Jomo's advice:

√(2x-1) = 1 - √(x-1) .............(1)................ square both sides

(2x-1) = 1 + (x-1) - 2*√(x-1) ................. simplify

2√(x-1) = 1 - x ........................................... square both sides

4(x-1) = 1 + x^2 - 2x .............................simplify

x^2 - 6x + 5 = 0 ......................................factorize

(x - 5)(x - 1) = 0 ....................................... two solutions: x = 5 and x = 1

Assuming √ is always positive → x\(\displaystyle \ \ne \\\)5 ............... here x=5 is an extraneous solution (created due to 'squaring')

The other solution: x = 1 satisfies the given equation (#1).

Hence the solution is x = 1.