Help for mapping a triplet of numbers

NicolasLegnazzi

Hi! I am a physics student and creating a code I found the following problem.
I have to be able to map a triplet of numbers into an integer that goes from 1 to a certain value.
In this case I have the triplet {n, l, m} and I must make the mapping of these numbers go from 1 to [MATH] \begin{equation} {n+l+m+1 \choose 2} \end{equation} [/MATH].
It is very important not skip numbers and that the numbers are in the range mentioned above.
I hope you can help me (excuse my English, I write in a translator)
Thank you!

Let u = n+l+m+1

You want the number [math]\binom{u}{2}=\frac{u!}{2! \times (u-2)!} = \frac{1}{2} \times \frac{u!}{(u-2)!}[/math]
Can you simplify this further? Assume u≥2 and show a few terms of each factorial to see what cancels out.

Hi! I am a physics student and creating a code I found the following problem.
I have to be able to map a triplet of numbers into an integer that goes from 1 to a certain value.
In this case I have the triplet {n, l, m} and I must make the mapping of these numbers go from 1 to [MATH] \begin{equation} {n+l+m+1 \choose 2} \end{equation} [/MATH].
It is very important not skip numbers and that the numbers are in the range mentioned above.
I hope you can help me (excuse my English, I write in a translator)
Thank you!
Since we are not sure of your translation, it may help if you give an example of what you want to do with some specific numbers, which may help us be sure what you mean. In particular, I need to see whether you want to map each individual triplet into a number (which you seem already to have specified), or something else.

yes, excuse me, I see that I did not clarify everything. Given a MAXIMUM n + l + m, I must obtain a formula that maps each triplet into an integer that goes from 1 to [MATH] \begin{equation} {[n+l+m]_{max}+1 \choose 2} \end{equation} [/MATH].
For example, if we take at most that n + l + m is 2 we would obtain the triplets:
{0,0,0}
{1,0,0}