How to solve the equation x^-1.5=1

gegogabanana

Hi I'm a University Utrecht student studying micro biology so not the best at math, I'm trying to solve the equation in the title for fun but I can't really make sense of the explenations online. Some help would be lovely. Thanks in advance!

When dealing with indices, 1 to the power of any thing will always equal 1. Therefore, in this equation, x is equal to 1.

In a more genral sence, you want to raise the left hand side to be equal to 1. Solving this equation would be as follows.

x^-1.5 = 1
(x^-1.5)^-2/3 = 1^-2/3
x = 1^-2/3
x = 1

Here we make use of the rule of indices that states: (a^p)^q) = a^(p*q)

Rembering that (-1.5 * -2/3) = 1
and that x^1 = x
and that 1 to the power of anything = 1

Hope this helps, I can explain further if you would like.

Hi I'm a University Utrecht student studying micro biology so not the best at math, I'm trying to solve the equation in the title for fun but I can't really make sense of the explenations online. Some help would be lovely. Thanks in advance!
We can't help you understand any "explenation" (sic) you have seen if we don't know what it is?

You might share a link to one (or more) of the "
online" explanations you saw that you don't understand (and say what it is about it/them that puzzles you).

In the meantime, below is a graph of y = x-1.5 and you can see that when x = 1 then x-1.5 also equals 1. Therefore, the solution to the equation: x-1.5 = 1 is: x = 1. Does that help?

x to -1.5.png

You can view the original graph (and 'play around' with it if you wish; eg: zoom in or out/move it around) here.

Hope that helps. 😊

Thanks alot, I was wondering if it also had anything to do with complex numbers since you could rewrite the equation as the xth root of -1.5=1
but the solution 1 seems helpfull aswell!

Thanks alot, I was wondering if it also had anything to do with complex numbers since you could rewrite the equation as the xth root of -1.5=1