I do not like algebra any more its to hard

James Smithson

I can spend ages on it and get it right and then be like we'll I did it but I have no idea how. And then ones that are easier I will get wrong because I do too much to them. This question I know how to get the answer to the solution but I do not know why the examples approach is wrong as he did what I would do to check... Nor do I understand what the student should of done instead to check.

Any help and feedback is appreciated and by this time next week I hope I will love algebra haha
Also I am not good with computers so hope I uploaded the pics correctly

Attachments

• Screenshot_20201123_143515.jpg
    Screenshot_20201123_143515.jpg
    32.2 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot_20201123_143551.jpg
    Screenshot_20201123_143551.jpg
    100.2 KB · Views: 8
\(\dfrac{6}{7}(x+9)=12\\\dfrac{1}{7}(x+9)=2\text{ divide by, }6.\\x+9=14\\x=5\)

algebra is easy!

\(\dfrac{6}{7}(x+9)=12\\\dfrac{1}{7}(x+9)=2\text{ divide by, }6.\\x+9=14\\x=5\)

algebra is easy!
I understand the answer 5 I just don't understand why the students approach to checking is wrong mainly or how the student should of checked

I can spend ages on it and get it right and then be like we'll I did it but I have no idea how. And then ones that are easier I will get wrong because I do too much to them. This question I know how to get the answer to the solution but I do not know why the examples approach is wrong as he did what I would do to check... Nor do I understand what the student should of done instead to check.

Any help and feedback is appreciated and by this time next week I hope I will love algebra haha
Also I am not good with computers so hope I uploaded the pics correctly
You did fine with the pictures.

I assume you solved the problem correctly yourself; there are several correct ways to do it.

I suppose you also see the student's error in "multiplying by 6" in different senses on the two sides.