Intro to rational expressions

Illvoices

Hello I'm studying for my SAT's and I wanted to if my colleagues at math help can aid me in this question.

How was this factored?I need a step by step.

x2 - 2x-8=0
(x-4)(x+2)=0

When I see the equation:

[MATH]x^2-2x-8=0[/MATH]
I ask myself, what are two factors of -8 whose sum is -2...and they are -4 and 2. And then I know the equation may be written:

[MATH](x-4)(x+2)=0[/MATH]

so you just factored it sort of speaking. The little problem im facing is how do you solve for it again and make it a whole x2 - 2x - 8 = 0.

so you just factored it sort of speaking …
Hi Illvioces. If writing out a general method in words is sort of speaking, then, yes, Mark did that. He gave you the method.

If you're studying on your own, do you have a textbook? Here's a video that covers the method, with some examples.

In cases where the leading coefficient is not a=1, then we use a different method (factor by grouping).

?

If given:

[MATH]ax^2+bx+c=0[/MATH]
I look for factors of the product \(ac\) whose sum is \(b\). If this proves difficult, I look at the discriminant to see if it is a square.

Note that, to do this, you pretty much have to assume that numerical factors are integers because you are basically using "trial and error" and if you allow non-integers there are simply too many to try! And most polynomials like this can't be factored with integer coefficients!

Of course, in order to factor, you need to know how to multiply! Others have mention "FOIL": (x+ a)(x+ b)= x^2+ ax+ bx+ ab= x^2+ (a+ b)x+ ab.

Your example is \(\displaystyle x^2- 2x- 8\). We need to find a and b such that ab= -8 and a+ b= -2. Possible factors are (1)(-8), (-1)(8), (2)(-4), and (-2)(4). The sums are, respectively, 1+ -8= -7, -1+ 8= 7, 2+ -4= -2, and -2+ 4= 2. We want -4+ 2 so our factors are (x- 4)(x+ 2)!

Check: \(\displaystyle (x- 4)(x+ 2)= x^2- 4x+ 2z- 8= x^2- 2x- 8\).