linear programming problem

vef

iv'e been given a graph with a shaded region and been asked what the contrants of the regoin are ( i have a choice of 8) prob is i have no idea how to even start - i'm a distance learning student & cant get hold of my tutor & i need to submit my assigment

what i'd like to know is how do i draw one of these graphs to work out the answer
for example one of the options is y >4x-5 - how do i draw this on a graph to see if it fits the example ive been given

thanx

vef said:
iv'e been given a graph with a shaded region and been asked what the contrants of the regoin are ( i have a choice of 8) prob is i have no idea how to even start - i'm a distance learning student & cant get hold of my tutor & i need to submit my assigment

what i'd like to know is how do i draw one of these graphs to work out the answer
for example one of the options is y >4x-5 - how do i draw this on a graph to see if it fits the example ive been given

thanx

The region y > 4x - 5 is formed by the line y = 4x - 5.

Start by graphing the line. y = 4x - 5 is in slope-intercept form. The y-intercept is -5, so you can start by plotting a point at -5 on the y-axis. The slope is 4, or 4/1. As you move to the right along the line, a rise of 4 units is accompanied by a run of 1 unit (recall that slope is rise/run).

Start at the point (0, -5) which you plotted on the y-axis. Move UP 4 units and TO THE RIGHT 1 unit, and you'll be at (1, -1). Plot another point here. You can do this again....go UP 4 units and TO THE RIGHT 1 unit and you'll be at (2, 3). This is another point on the line. Now, take a ruler and draw a dashed line that goes through the points you've plotted (it is a dashed line rather than a solid line because the points ON the line don't satisfy the inequality).