Why 0/0 is undefined? As 1*0 = 1*0 then 1/1 = 0/0 which results in 0/0 = 1.

onkonovice

Why 0/0 is undefined?

As
1*0=1*0 then
1/1=0/0
Which results 0/0=1
Please correct me where I am getting wrong.
I am very new to math.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you stapel for your reply. In the meantime I googled this topic, I found that 0/0 is not undefined rather it's indeterminate.

Why 0/0 is undefined?

As
1*0=1*0 then
1/1=0/0
Which results 0/0=1
Please correct me where I am getting wrong.
I am very new to math.
The reason 1/0 is undefined is that there is no value you could give it that would make sense; 1/0 = x would mean that 1 = 0*x, which can never be true.

The reason 0/0 is undefined is different: there are too many values that make sense. In fact, 0/0 = x would mean that 0 = 0*x, which is true for any value of x. So 0/0 doesn't have a unique value, which is necessary in order to define an operation. (This is the same idea as a function.)

And if we defined 0/0 = 1, say, then you could prove (as @stapel has done) that 1 = -3, which would be a disaster for mathematics. So we just can't allow it.

Thank you stapel for your reply. In the meantime I googled this topic, I found that 0/0 is not undefined rather it's indeterminate.
There is some confusion about the definitions:

Undefined: This usually means that there is no possible value that can be given, or that there is more than one value that it can logically be given.

Indeterminate: This usually means that there is not enough information to determine what the value should be.

If you are just talking about 0/0, then it is undefined. We can say that 0/0 is any number we like.

What you (apparently) found was an article about limits: when we see that
[imath]\displaystyle \lim_{x \to a} \dfrac{f(x)}{g(x)} \to \dfrac{0}{0}[/imath]