Music Charts Question

radiogeoff

Hi guys,

I'm terribly sorry if I'm posting in the wrong category. Math has never been a strong suit of mine, so I hope this counts as a statistics question.

I work in the radio industry and use music charts very often, however in most cases they are limited by geography. I'm wondering what the formula or process would be to combine elements of different charts to create a new one.

For example, if I wanted to compile a weekly chart to determine the biggest songs in the world based on several country's existing charts, how would I do that? Just find the average based on how many times a song appears on each chart and at what position? What if I wanted to use songs that fit into a specific genre but appear on general charts around the world? Once I figure out the formula, is there a way to automate it through excel or something like that?

I hope that makes sense. If you need more clarity, please ask.

Thanks in advance for any help. It's greatly appreciated!!

Hi guys,

I'm terribly sorry if I'm posting in the wrong category. Math has never been a strong suit of mine, so I hope this counts as a statistics question.

I work in the radio industry and use music charts very often, however in most cases they are limited by geography. I'm wondering what the formula or process would be to combine elements of different charts to create a new one.

For example, if I wanted to compile a weekly chart to determine the biggest songs in the world based on several country's existing charts, how would I do that? Just find the average based on how many times a song appears on each chart and at what position? What if I wanted to use songs that fit into a specific genre but appear on general charts around the world? Once I figure out the formula, is there a way to automate it through excel or something like that?

I hope that makes sense. If you need more clarity, please ask.

Thanks in advance for any help. It's greatly appreciated!!