Word Problems

bmel37

I am studying for a pre-calc assesment test. The last math class I took was trig almost 2 years ago, so I am pretty rusty!

My problem with this section of the study guide (Math Modeling - Word Problems) is that I have no idea where to begin!
If someone could just give me the basic formulas to use in order to solve these problems, I would REALLY appreciate it! I have the answers, and I don't mind working the problems out for myself, but I need to find out which formulas, etc. to use and memorize.
Please provide your input for any or all of the following questions:

1. A fast fish can swim the length of a river upstream in 5 hours and downstream in 3 hours. If the river is 40 miles long, how fast could the fish swim if there were no current in the river? What is the speed of the current?
Answer: The fish swims at 32mph. The current is 8mph.

2. Steve can write a quiz in 40 minutes. Steve and Ruth working together can write a quiz in 25 minutes. How long would it take Ruth working alone to write a quiz?
Answer:66 2/3 min

3. You have two saline solutions. One solution is 20% salt; the other is 50% salt. How much of the 20% solution would you mix with the 50% solution to make 5 liters of a 30.5% solution?
Answer:3.25 L of the 20% and 1.75 L of the 50%

Thanks in advance, everyone!

1. If the fish swims downstream at 32+8 mph how does it take 3 hours going 40mph to go 40 miles? The given answer is incorrect.
Draw a detailed picture including all info given. You should know that mph(miles per hour) refers to velocity, so V=velocity=mph=miles per hour=miles/hour=distance/time=D/T or V=D/T What info do you know? What info don't you know? Make variables for the pieces you don't know...you do the rest.