Function relating to population growth

astral_stardust

I'm stuck and could use a hint, or someone who understands it better than I do explaining what the function means. I'm not too good with setting up word problems.

Show that for any positive constants a and k, the function g(t)=a2^kt doubles after 1/k years. t represents time in years and the function represents population of a country as a function of time.

I'm stuck and could use a hint, or someone who understands it better than I do explaining what the function means. I'm not too good with setting up word problems.

Show that for any positive constants a and k, the function g(t)=a2^kt doubles after 1/k years. t represents time in years and the function represents population of a country as a function of time.
What are your thoughts? What have you tried? How far have you gotten? Where are you stuck?

For instance, they claim that, regardless of the values of "a" and of "k", the given equation will give some value for whatever value you plugged in for the time "t", and will give a doubled value for a t-value that is 1/k more than the initial t-value. So you plugged "t = 0" in, and got... what? Then you plugged "t = 1/k", and got... what? You plugged in "t = 1" and got... what? You then plugged in "t = 1 + 1/k" and got... what? What did you conclude?

Please be complete. Thank you! ;)

A slightly different way that what stapel has:
\(\displaystyle \frac{\text{Value at t + }\, \frac{1}{k} \text{ years}}{\text{Value at t years}}\)\(\displaystyle \, =\, \frac{a\, 2^{k\, (t\, +\, 1/k)}}{a\, 2^{kt}}\) = ?

Understanding

You are asking for a better understanding of what the function means, this might prompt some ideas of your own.

let a = 1, and k = 1

then we have are left with "understanding" what the function 2^t means,
Now suppose t takes on the values of 1,2 and 3 successively:

2^1 = (2)
2^2 = (2)(2)
2^3 = (2)(2)(2)