a^n | b^n => a|b: I'm having trouble finishing up the proof

Steven G

Elite Member
I am having trouble finishing up the proof for a^n | b^n => a|b. If I was a student I would think about this for days but 4-5 hours is long enough these days. A hint would be nice.
Here is what I have so far.

Proof: Let d = gcd(a,b) implies d|a and d|b implies a=rd and b=sd, where gcd(r,s)=1
[note: if r=1 then a=d implies b=sa implies a|b----so it suffices to show that r=1]
Given a^n | b^n which implies b^n = m*a^n
Define d'= gcd(a^n, b^n)
By previous theorem, gcd(r,s) = 1 implies gcd(r^n, s^n) = 1

There exist x and y in Z, s/t d=ax+by
There exist x' and y' in Z s/t d' = x'a^n + y'b^n
There exist x" and y" in Z s/t 1 = x"r^n + y"s^n
There exists x''' and y''' in Z s/t 1 = rx''' + sy'''
...???

Not the most elegant approach, but I'd look at prime factorizations of 'a' and 'b'.
Yes, I can easily prove it that way. However the book that I am studying number theory from hasn't gotten into prime factorization yet. The author clearly wants me to use the definition of a|b.

Another approach could be reducing the problem to the case of mutually prime 'a' and 'b'.

I am having trouble finishing up the proof for a^n | b^n => a|b. If I was a student I would think about this for days but 4-5 hours is long enough these days. A hint would be nice.
Here is what I have so far.

Proof: Let d = gcd(a,b) implies d|a and d|b implies a=rd and b=sd, where gcd(r,s)=1
[note: if r=1 then a=d implies b=sa implies a|b----so it suffices to show that r=1]
Given a^n | b^n which implies b^n = m*a^n
Define d'= gcd(a^n, b^n)
By previous theorem, gcd(r,s) = 1 implies gcd(r^n, s^n) = 1

There exist x and y in Z, s/t d=ax+by
There exist x' and y' in Z s/t d' = x'a^n + y'b^n
There exist x" and y" in Z s/t 1 = x"r^n + y"s^n
There exists x''' and y''' in Z s/t 1 = rx''' + sy'''
...???
How about a proof by induction? Tried it, can't quite wrap my mind around the logic of the induction step yet...