Candle problem

Gamer30

Hi everyone,
Recently, I have encountered the following maths problem:
"The height of the candle is 10cm. After 2 hrs, it was shorter by 2cm. So, what's the height of the candle 4 hrs later?"

Would greatly appreciate anyone who can share their solution to the above problem.
Thanks.

Hi everyone,
"The height of the candle is 10cm. After 2 hrs, it was shorter by 2cm. So, what's the height of the candle 4 hrs later?"

Would greatly appreciate anyone who can share their solution to the above problem.
Thanks.
Do you know that the candle was burning at a constant rate?
Another question: "4 hours later" from what point? From time 0 or time 2?

Do you know that the candle was burning at a constant rate?
Another question: "4 hours later" from what point? From time 0 or time 2?
Thanks for pointing out. The candle was burning at 1cm/hr. Yup, I was referring to from time 0 (4hrs later).

Sorry to say I'm not an expert in applying y=mx+b in this case. Therefore, would greatly appreciate someone who can show me the solution?
But you ARE acquainted with the equation:

y = m * x + b

Do you know the definitions of the variables 'm' & 'b' in the equation written above?

If you do not know please Google the following term:

slope-intercept equation of a line

You will find many videos explaining the terms. Please review some of those and come-back to tell us what you have learned about "m" & "b" and how you use those concepts for your problem.

Sorry to say I'm not an expert in applying y=mx+b in this case. Therefore, would greatly appreciate someone who can show me the solution?
Another way you can approach this problem is by making a table:
You know at time 0, the candle is 10. So after 1 hour, the candle height will be 9.
Time (hour)​
Candle Height (cm)​
3?
4?

After that, you can plot these coordinates, and connect the dots. You'll see the line y=mx+b. Hope this helps.
:)

Hi everyone,

Thanks.