Complete a triangle given orthocenter, 1 vertex, two lines each containing a vertex

mathpanther

Hello,
I've been racking my brain trying to figure this one out using trigonometric or vector math. I'm no math expert and this is over my head. I found this site and am hoping I can get some help.

I'm trying to figure out an approach to solve a triangle given the following information. I've attached an image to help clarify the given information:
- The Orthocenter (P)
- 1 Vertex (A)
- 2 lines pointing towards the two unknown vertices (Line DE and Line FG)
From this, I need to find points B and C

Complete This Triangle 2.jpg

Since I have the orthocenter (P) and the one vertex (A), I know the distance from vertex A and the orthocenter P. I know the opposite side of the triangle is perpendicular to Line AP and vertices B and C are where the opposite side crosses the lines DE and FG. All I need to solve the triangle is the distance from the known vertex to the opposite side. There's too many moving targets for me to wrap my head around.

What I'm hoping to find are formulas that I can plug the given data into that will help me find the triangle. Any ideas on how to approach this?

Best regards

Last edited:
Orthocenter question

It's very late and I'm about to hit the sack, so I don't have time to give this the thought it deserves. Having said that, it may well be that a path to the solution might be found in the fact that if you have three vertices and the orthocenter, any one of the four points is the orthocenter for the other three. If you haven't come up with something by tomorrow, I'll put some more time in on it.

Updated original post

I've updated my original post with a labeled graphic and tried to clarify a bit. Please see the original post.
Thanks.