cone has height twice its radius, volume of 18pi in^3; find cone's height in inches

tathagata7

I'm studying for my SSAT and have this word problem:

A cone has a height twice its radius and a volume of [FONT=MathJax_Main]18[FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]π[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main] [/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]i[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]n[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]3[/FONT]18π in3.[/FONT]
What is the cone’s height, in inches?
(Volume of a cone [FONT=MathJax_Main]=[FONT=MathJax_Main]1[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]3[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]π[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]r[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]2[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]h)[/FONT]

I'm trying to derive the answer 6

While I'm studying geometry, I cannot figure this out.

Thank you so much,

Carrie[/FONT]

A cone has a height twice its radius and a volume of [FONT=MathJax_Main][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic][/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic][/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic][/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main][/FONT]18π in3.[/FONT]
(Volume of a cone [FONT=MathJax_Main]=[FONT=MathJax_Main] (1/[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]3)[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]π[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]r[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]2[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]h)[/FONT]

While I'm studying geometry, I cannot figure this out.[/FONT]
A good start might be to use the information they've given you. They've told you that h = 2r and that V = 18pi. They've given you the relationship between the volume V, the height h, and the radius r. So plug the value and expressions they've given you into the formula they've given you, and see where that leads. ;)

I'm studying for my SSAT and have this word problem:

A cone has a height twice its radius and a volume of [FONT=MathJax_Main]18[FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]π[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main] [/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]i[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Math-italic]n[/FONT][FONT=MathJax_Main]3[/FONT]18π in3.[/FONT]